Safety of sealed radioactive sources
German HASS register
X-ray scanner for the screening of cabin baggage
Radioactive substances in watches
Ionising smoke detectors (ISM)

Ionising Radiation > ... > Safety of sealed radioactive sources

Safety of sealed radioactive sources in Germany

Blood Irradiator

Figure 1: Blood irradiator (Reference: Identification of Sources and Devices – Reference Manual, IAEA Nuclear Security Series, 2007)

About 100.000 sealed radioactive sources are used in Germany in industry, medicine, research and in agriculture.

Areas of use and legal basis

Most common areas of use for sealed sources in industry are calibration, material testing, product irradiation and sterilisation as well as level and density measurement. In medicine sealed sources are mostly used in radiation therapy and blood irradiation, where cobalt-60, iridium-192, caesium-137, strontium-90 and americium-241 are the dominating radionuclides. The activities used in these areas range from some Kilobecquerel for testing and calibration sources to several Terabecquerel in radioactive sources for irradiation facilities.

Gamma radiography projector

Figure 2: Gamma radiography projector (Reference:; Identification of Sources and Devices – Reference Manual, IAEA Nuclear Security Series, 2007)

Use of radioactive sources in Germany is generally subject to government supervision according to the Atomic Energy Act and requires a licence according to the Radiation Protection Ordinance. The licence is granted by the competent federal state authority in Germany after examination for compliance with legal requirements.

Handling of sealed sources without a licence is only allowed for sources containing activities below the so-called exemption level or sources fixed within equipment built to a type approved design. Exemption levels have been specified by the Radiation Protection Ordinance in accordance with international (IAEA) and European limit values (EU Guideline 96/29/EURATOM). The term “exemption level” refers to an activity level associated with negligible radiological hazard assuming proper use of the radioactive source.

Duties of source owners regulatory control

The receipt and transfer of sources are subject to mandatory reporting. The application of radioactive sources is monitored for proper handling by officially appointed radiation protection officers. In addition, the regulatory authority may carry out a review of the licensee at any time. Safety-related incidents during the use of sealed sources, such as technical malfunctions of the device, operating error or theft, must be reported immediately to the responsible authority. Before transferring a source, it must be guaranteed that the recipient has a valid handling licence referring to that source. The recipient must receive a certificate, stating that the source is leak-tight and free from contamination.

Transport of radioactive sources is subject to the Transport of Hazardous Goods Ordinance and also requires authorisation. Carriage without governmental monitoring is permitted only for sources with levels of activity below the exemption level (see above) and for the so-called exempted packages. The transport packaging of radioactive sources must comply with the provisions of the European Agreement concerning the International Carriage of Dangerous Goods by Road (ADR).

The working life of sources in use varies with the strongly varying half-lives of the used radionuclides. If the sources are not disposed of directly by the licensee upon expiry of their operating life, the equipment together with the source remaining in the device must be returned to the equipment manufacturer. The manufacturer checks whether the radioactive source is reusable or returns it to the source manufacturer. Disused sources or devices are delivered to Federal state collecting facilities.

As until today no endangerment through sources illegally disposed of or lost in Germany

Radioactive source from a teletherapy unit

Figure 3: Radioactive source from a teletherapy unit, found at the accident in Thailand (Reference: The Radiological Accident in Samut Prakarn, IAEA, 2002)

Although handling of radioactive sources is subject to governmental controls, it cannot be completely excluded that a sealed source gets lost or that an orphaned source will be found. Such incidents must be reported immediately to the regulatory authority. All incidents will be recorded and analysed on a national level. A brief summary of annual incidents in Germany is published in the annual report of the Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety (Title: “Umweltradioaktivität und Strahlenbelastung”).

Nearly 500 reported incidents associated with loss or discovery of radioactive sources were recorded between 1991 and 2008 throughout Germany. These sources, mostly disposed of ignorantly, were often discovered in junk or waste containers, because most of the scrap metal or waste companies employ appropriate radiation measurement devices. Since the levels of radioactivity of these lost or found sources are low in most cases (e.g. accidentally discarded ionising smoke detectors), potential misuse is not expected to pose a high hazard.  

Central German register permits complete backtracking of high-activity sealed sources

However, eleven findings of sealed sources involving high levels of activity were reported between 1991 and 2008 in Germany, but did not end up in accidents. The extent of dangers associated with sources of this kind was seen in an incident in Thailand in 2000, when a cobalt-60 source from a teletherapy device was accidentally taken to a junk yard and unknowingly opened. As a result significant radiation exposures occurred and several people suffered from radiation sickness or died. This example emphasises the danger posed by radioactive sources when orphaned as a result of lacking monitoring. So far, accidents of this kind have not occurred in Germany.

Against the background of possible accidents, measures to increase safety when handling radioactive sources have been discussed on an international level at the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) since the 1990s. Especially in view of the altered level of safety after the attack on September 11, 2001, international regulations have tightened significantly.

In Germany, legal regulations were enacted concerning control of so-called high-activity sealed radioactive sources (HASS) in 2005. Those are sealed sources which have such high levels of activity, that improper handling may be associated with a high radiological hazard. In addition to previous regulations, the delivery and acquisition of a HASS have to be recorded in a central register (HRQ-register) at the Federal Office for Radiation Protection (BfS) since 2005. The HRQ-register allows traceability of all high-activity sealed radioactive sources in Germany. The new regulations integrated the obligation to take back a HASS by the manufacturer of the source into law, too.

International information system for lost radioactive sources

Because the transport of radioactive material through global scrap trade is a trans-national problem, the IAEA has been operating an information system to transmit data on lost radioactive sources on a global scale for several years. Due to this information system for example one case was solved in 2003 involving two sealed sources found in scrap metal in Germany, that had been stolen in Nigeria. In order to avoid such incidents or minimise their consequences, further improvements of existing security measures are planned for the future.


More information


Printer safe version

Sicherheit von radioaktiven Strahlenquellen
Das nationale HRQ-Register
Handgepäck-Sicherheitskontrollen
Radioaktive Stoffe in Uhren

Ionisierende Strahlung > ... > Sicherheit von radioaktiven Strahlenquellen

Sicherheit von radioaktiven Strahlenquellen in Deutschland

Blutbestrahlungsanlage

Abbildung 1: Blutbestrahlungsanlage
(Quelle: Identification of Sources and Devices - Reference Manual, IAEA Nuclear Security Series, 2007)

Etwa 100.000 umschlossene radioaktive Strahlenquellen (Strahler) werden in Deutschland in Industrie und Gewerbe, Medizin, Forschung und in der Landwirtschaft angewendet.

Einsatzgebiete und rechtliche Grundlagen

Häufige Einsatzbereiche für Strahler in der Industrie sind die Kalibrierung von Messgeräten, die Werkstoffprüfung, die Produktbestrahlung und -sterilisation, sowie die Füllstands- und Dichtemessung. In der Medizin werden Strahlenquellen zumeist in der Strahlentherapie und bei der Blutbestrahlung eingesetzt. Die hierbei dominierenden Radionuklide sind Kobalt-60, Iridium-192, Cäsium-137, Strontium-90 und Americium-241. Die eingesetzten Aktivitäten variieren von einigen Kilobecquerel für Prüf- und Kalibrierstrahler bis zu einigen Terabecquerel bei Strahlenquellen für Bestrahlungsanlagen.

Gammaradiographie-Gerät

Abbildung 2: Gammaradiographie-Gerät
(Quelle: Identification of Sources and Devices - Reference Manual, IAEA Nuclear Security Series, 2007)

Die Benutzung radioaktiver Strahlenquellen unterliegt gemäß dem deutschen Atomgesetz grundsätzlich der staatlichen Aufsicht und erfordert gemäß Strahlenschutzverordnung eine Genehmigung, die in Deutschland durch die zuständige Länderbehörde nach Prüfung der genehmigungsrechtlichen Voraussetzungen erteilt wird.

Der genehmigungsfreie Umgang ist nur für Strahler, deren Aktivität unterhalb der Freigrenze liegt, oder für Strahler, die fest in bauartzugelassene Geräte eingefügt sind, möglich. Die Freigrenzen sind durch die Strahlenschutzverordnung festgelegt und stimmen mit den Grenzwerten der Internationalen Atomenergie-Behörde (IAEA) und den europäischen Grenzwerten (EU-Richtlinie 96/29/EURATOM) überein. Mit dem Begriff Freigrenze wird eine Aktivität bezeichnet, von der bei üblicher Nutzung der Radioaktivität nur eine vernachlässigbar geringe Gefährdung ausgeht.

Pflichten der Quelleninhaber, behördliche Kontrolle

Die Annahme und Weitergabe eines Strahlers unterliegt der behördlichen Meldepflicht. Der ordnungsgemäße Umgang während des Einsatzes einer Strahlenquelle wird durch die von der Behörde bestellten Strahlenschutzbeauftragten überwacht. Darüber hinaus kann die Aufsichtsbehörde jederzeit die aus ihrer Sicht bei einem Genehmigungsinhaber erforderlichen Kontrollen durchführen. Sicherheitstechnisch bedeutsame Ereignisse beim Umgang mit der Strahlenquelle, wie technische Fehlfunktionen des Gerätes, Bedienungsfehler oder ein Diebstahl des Strahlers, sind der zuständigen Behörde unverzüglich zu melden. Bei der Abgabe eines Strahlers ist sicherzustellen, dass der Empfänger über eine entsprechende Genehmigung zum Umgang mit der Strahlenquelle verfügt. Dem Empfänger ist zu bescheinigen, dass der Strahler dicht und kontaminationsfrei ist.

Die Beförderung von radioaktiven Strahlenquellen unterliegt dem Gefahrgutbeförderungsgesetz und ist ebenfalls genehmigungspflichtig. Eine Beförderung ohne staatliche Kontrolle ist nur für Strahler mit Aktivitäten unterhalb der Freigrenze (siehe oben) und sogenannte freigestellte Versandstücke erlaubt. Die Verpackung der zu befördernden Strahlenquellen muss den Anforderungen des "Europäischen Übereinkommens über die internationale Beförderung gefährlicher Güter" (ADR) entsprechen.

Die Lebensdauer der eingesetzten Strahlenquellen variiert aufgrund der stark unterschiedlichen Halbwertszeiten der verwendeten Radionuklide. Wenn die Strahlenquellen nach Ablauf der Nutzungsdauer nicht unmittelbar vom Betreiber entsorgt werden, werden die Einrichtungen mitsamt der in ihnen verbleibenden Strahlenquellen vom Betreiber an den Gerätehersteller zurückgegeben. Dieser prüft gegebenenfalls eine weitere Verwendung der Strahler oder gibt sie zurück an den Hersteller. Die nicht mehr verwendbaren Strahler werden bei den Landessammelstellen abgegeben.

Strahlenquelle aus einer Teletherapie-Anlage

Abbildung 3: Strahlenquelle aus einer Teletherapie-Anlage, die bei dem Unfall in Thailand gefunden wurde
(Quelle: The Radiological Accident in Samut Prakarn, IAEA, 2002)

Bisher keine Gefährdung durch illegal entsorgte und verlorene Strahlenquellen in Deutschland

Trotz der staatlichen Kontrolle beim Umgang mit radioaktiven Stoffen kann der Verlust eines Strahlers oder der Fund einer herrenlosen Strahlenquelle nicht vollständig ausgeschlossen werden. Diese Fälle sind der Aufsichtsbehörde unverzüglich mitzuteilen und werden bundesweit erfasst und ausgewertet. Die in Deutschland gemeldeten Vorkommnisse mit Strahlenquellen werden jährlich im Jahresbericht des Bundesministeriums für Umwelt, Naturschutz und Reaktorsicherheit (Titel: „Umweltradioaktivität und Strahlenbelastung“) veröffentlicht.

So wurden in den Jahren 1991 bis 2008 bundesweit 489 Meldungen über den Verlust beziehungsweise Fund von Strahlern aufgezeichnet. Gefunden wurden diese, in der Regel wegen Unkenntnis entsorgten, Strahlenquellen häufig in Schrott- oder Müll-Containern, da die meisten der in diesem Bereich in Deutschland tätigen Unternehmen über entsprechende Strahlenmesseinrichtungen verfügen. Die Aktivität der gefundenen oder verloren gegangenen Strahlenquellen ist in den meisten Fällen gering (zum Beispiel bei unwissentlich entsorgten Ionisationsrauchmeldern), so dass bei missbräuchlicher Nutzung keine hohe Gefährdung zu erwarten ist.

Zentrales Register ermöglicht lückenlose Rückverfolgung hochradioaktiver Strahlenquellen

In den Jahren 1991 bis 2008 wurden in Deutschland jedoch auch elf Funde von Strahlenquellen mit einer hohen Aktivität gemeldet, die aber nicht zu Unfällen führten. Welche Gefahr mit Strahlern dieser Art verbunden sein kann, zeigt ein Unfall in Thailand aus dem Jahr 2000, bei dem eine Kobalt-60-Strahlenquelle aus einer Teletherapie-Anlage irrtümlich auf einen Schrottplatz verbracht und unwissentlich geöffnet wurde. Als Folge dieser Öffnung entstanden erhebliche Expositionen, so dass einige Personen an Strahlenkrankheit erkrankten beziehungsweise starben. Dieses Beispiel verdeutlicht die Gefahr, die von radioaktiven Strahlenquellen ausgehen kann, wenn sie durch mangelnde Überwachung herrenlos werden. Derartige Unfälle mit Strahlenquellen sind in Deutschland noch nicht vorgekommen.

Vor dem Hintergrund möglicher Unfälle werden Maßnahmen zur Erhöhung der Sicherheit beim Umgang mit radioaktiven Strahlenquellen bereits seit den 1990er Jahren international von der IAEA diskutiert. Insbesondere durch die veränderte Sicherheitslage nach den Anschlägen am 11. September 2001 wurde das internationale Regelwerk deutlich verschärft.

In Deutschland wurden im Jahr 2005 gesetzliche Regelungen für die Kontrolle von "hochradioaktiven Strahlenquellen" (HRQ), das heißt von Strahlern, deren Aktivität so hoch ist, dass eine missbräuchliche Nutzung mit einer hohen Gefährdung verbunden sein kann, erlassen. Zusätzlich zu den bisherigen Regelungen ist seit 2005 Abgabe und Erwerb einer hochradioaktiven Strahlenquelle auch dem zentralen Register über hochradioaktive Strahlenquellen (HRQ-Register) beim Bundesamt für Strahlenschutz (BfS) zu melden. Das HRQ-Register ermöglicht eine lückenlose Verfolgung des Verbleibs hochradioaktiver Strahlenquellen innerhalb Deutschlands. Mit der Einführung der neuen Regelungen wurde auch die Pflicht zur Rücknahme einer hochradioaktiven Quelle durch den Hersteller der Strahlenquelle gesetzlich verankert.

Internationales Informationssystem zu verloren gegangenen Strahlenquellen

Da die Verbringung radioaktiver Stoffe durch den globalen Schrotthandel ein länderübergreifendes Problem ist, besteht seit einigen Jahren ein von der IAEA betriebenes Informationssystem zur Übermittlung von Daten zu weltweit verloren gegangenen Strahlenquellen. Durch dieses Informationssystem konnte beispielsweise ein im Jahr 2003 aufgetretener Fall von zwei in Deutschland gefundenen Strahlenquellen, die in Nigeria gestohlen worden waren, geklärt werden. Um Vorkommnisse dieser Art noch mehr einzudämmen beziehungsweise um deren Folgen zu minimieren, sind zukünftig weitere Verbesserungen der bestehenden Sicherheitsmaßnahmen vorgesehen.


Weitere Informationen


Druckversion